America’s Boating Club Houston, in partnership with Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, offers this 1-day boating safety course.
America’s Boating Course™ – 3rd Edition (we call it ABC3) is the latest public boating course offered by the United States Power Squadrons, and includes seamanship, required equipment, state and federal regulations and rules of the road, emergency procedures and much more. It covers just about everything you need to get started, and is a great refresher for the more experienced boater.
Texas law requires everyone born on or after September 1, 1993 to complete a Boater Education course in order to operate a PWC or boat with a motor greater than 15 HP. This course meets that educational requirement.“A TPWD certified boater education course and photo I.D. is required for any person born on or after September 1, 1993 to operate: (1) a vessel powered by a motor of more than 15 horsepower; or (2) a windblown vessel over 14 feet in length. No person may operate a PWC or motorboat powered by a motor of more than 15 horsepower on the public waters of this state unless the person is at least 13 years of age and has successfully completed a Boater Education Course or is supervised by another person who: (1) is at least 18 years of age; (2) can lawfully operate the motorboat; and (3) is on board the motorboat when under way.”
The TPWD certification card is, for those born on or after September 1, 1993, to show law enforcement officials that the holder is legally entitled to be driving a boat. For adults it is the means to obtain reduced boat insurance rates from some companies, to rent a boat where proof of having attended an approved boating safety course is required, and to boat in the waters of those states which require all boaters to have passed an approved course. The TPWD card is difficult to forge, valid as proof in most states, and it has no expiration date. Obtaining a TPWD card will require going online to the TPWD website to search for the class you wish to attend and then register for certification by the state for passing it. Registering for that state certification before the class date will save time on the day of the class. Payment of $11 to us via PayPal when you complete registration or in cash or by check made payable to HSPS which will be collected on the morning of the class.
Registration and payment of $35 per person tuition in advance of the class is required.
The minimum age for taking the exam for state certification is 12, however we have found that some 12 year-olds do not do well on the exam – it is a very long day for paying attention at that age. There will be a break for a late lunch. You can either bring your lunch or go to a restaurant in the area. There are restaurants near all training venues.
Note that there is an excellent, optional companion book to the class presentations which may be purchased for $40 during event registration, or you can purchase one at the class.
- Saturday, May 12, 2018
8:00 am - 4:30 pm