Event Phone: (713) 517-2204
This in-person class is an approved Texas Parks and Wildlife Department boating safety course. The class takes 6 – 8 hours, and concludes with an exam. Lunch is not provided.
- Types of boats and their uses
- Boating laws, both federal and state
- Safety equipment, both required and recommended
- Finding your way in good or adverse conditions
- Trailering, knots and lines, and water sports topics
Attendees will be provided with a Boat Texas study guide and other documents from the State of Texas and Federal sources for your easy reference to boating laws and regulations. Everyone will also receive a collection of pamphlets and brochures oriented towards recreational boating.
Note: You will register here to pay for the course, the TPWD boater license is optional (but you will pay here if you want the license). If you are going to get a State of Texas boater license, please remember to also find this course online (here) and register with Texas Parks and Wildlife (free) so we can pay and process your license application.
Important Note The Texas Boater Education Course is mandatory for boaters age 13-17, in order to operate any watercraft without being accompanied on board by someone at least 18 years of age. Boaters under the age of 13 may operate a craft, but must always be accompanied by a person at least 18 years of age.
The Texas safe boater course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators, a national organization that works to develop public policy for recreational boating safety. NASBLA represents the recreational boating authorities of all 50 states and the U.S. territories.
- Sunday, June 5, 2022
8:30 am - 4:30 pm