America's Boating Course
America’s Boating Club Houston, in partnership with Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, offers this 1-day boating safety course.
America’s Boating Course™ is the latest and most popular public boating course we offer. We also teach the Texas Parks and Wildlife boater safety course. Both these courses include information on basic seamanship, required equipment, state and federal regulations, rules of the road, emergency procedures and much more. The courses cover just about everything you need to get started, and is a great refresher for the more experienced boater.
Texas law requires everyone born on or after September 1, 1993 to complete a Boater Education course in order to operate a personal watercraft or boat with a motor greater than 15 HP. This course meets that educational requirement.
Boater Education Verification
The TPWD certification card demonstrates to law enforcement officials that the holder is legally entitled to drive a boat. Registering for the state certification before the class date will save time on the day of the class.
Good to Know
The minimum age for taking the exam for state certification is 13, however we have found that some 13 year-olds do not do well on the exam – it is a very long day for paying attention at that age. There will be a break for a late lunch. You can either bring your lunch or go to a restaurant in the area. There are restaurants near all training venues.
America's Boating Course Costs
Tuition must be paid during class registration via PayPal or by check / cash prior to the start of the class. Books and other materials should be purchased during registration, or may be available the day of the class. Supply of optional materials cannot be guaranteed if not ordered during registration.
|Course Tuition Fee (required):||$35.00|
|Texas Parks & Wildlife Department Certifcation Card (optional)||$11.00|
|America's Boating Course 3rd Edition Book (optional)||$40.00|